Diese Seite verwendet Cookies, mit denen Informationen lokal auf Ihrem Rechner gespeichert werden. Mit der Benutzung der Seite stimmen Sie der Nutzung von Cookies zu.




Works by George Frideric Handel, Thomas Arne and John Christopher Smith

Handel’s Last Prima Donna is the title chosen by the celebrated soprano Ruby Hughes and the Festival’s Artistic Director Laurence Cummings for their programme at the opening concert. This last prima donna was Giulia Frasi, who came to London in 1742 and as a pupil of George Frideric Handel until his death in 1759 was acknowledged as his ‘principal singer’. She played the title roles, for example, in the premieres of Susanna, Theodora and Jephtha, and sang in The Choice of Hercules and Solomon. The programme features some of the finest arias from these works.

Tour of the castle (in German): 5.45 pm
Duration approx. 45 min.
To take part in the tour, prior registration is required via +49 551-38 48 130 or info@haendel-festspiele.de.

Coach transfer from the Deutsches Theater Göttingen
Departure 5 pm
The coach back to Göttingen departs approx. 20 min. after the concert ends.
8 € (ticket sales)

The concert venue is not barrier-free. For further information on Festival venue accessibility please see the overview.


In cooperation with the Kulturinitiative Hardegsen e. V.



Works by George Frideric Handel, Thomas Arne and John Christopher Smith



Works by George Frideric Handel, Thomas Arne and John Christopher Smith

Georg Friedrich Händel (1685–1759)
Crystal streams in murmurs flowing
aus Susanna (HWV 66)

There the brisk sparkling nectar drain
aus The Choice of Hercules (HWV 69)

Suite Nr. 2 F-Dur (HWV 427)
aus 8 Suites de Pièces pour le Clavecin (1. Sammlung)
Adagio – Allegro – Adagio – Allegro – Allegro

Thomas Arne (1710–1778)
Why is death for ever late
aus Artaxerxes

John Christopher Smith (1712–1795)
But see, the night with silent pace steals on – O balmy Sleep!
aus Rebecca

Georg Friedrich Händel
Lascia ch’io pianga
arrangiert von William Babell (1688–1723)

Vincenzo Ciampi (1719–1762)
Là per l’ombrosa sponda
aus Il trionfo di Camilla




Georg Friedrich Händel
Sinfonia – O thou bright sun! – With darkness deep as is my woe – Symphony of soft Musick – But why art thou disquieted – Oh, that I on wings could rise
aus Theodora (HWV 68)

Thomas Arne
Sonate Nr. 2 e-Moll
Andante – Adagio – Allegrissimo

Gracious Heav’n, o hear me!
aus Alfred

Georg Friedrich Händel
Ye sacred priests – Farewell Ye limpid springs and floods
aus Jephtha (HWV 70)

Arrival of the Queen of Sheba

Will the sun forget to streak
aus Solomon (HWV 67)

3 May
7.30 pm
Muthaus Burg Hardeg
Duration approx. 100 min.


Ruby Hughes Soprano

Laurence Cummings Harpsichord